Belated Father’s Day

A belated Father’s Day report is due.   Since both K and I spent our childhoods moving around the country due to our fathers’ jobs with the Federal Government, I never expected to live around so much family as an adult.  But pretty much all of our immediate families live withing 20 minutes of us.  So holidays are always spent with lots of family around.

This Father’s Day, we had everybody over to our house for lunch.  Fairly simple meal of burgers and hotdogs.  But what makes these type of gatherings special is the time after the meal when everybody just sits around and talks.  Luckily the weather cooperated, so we all spent a total of 4 hours out on our screened in porch.

Of course, for me, the highlight of the day was opening the kids’ presents to me.  This year, Nana took the kids out to purchase their own Father’s Day gifts for me.

Did I mention that my kids are 4?  I think you can see where this is going.

I guess J took my love of T-Shirts into consideration

IMGP5406

Yes, that’s a McDonald’s shirt, complete with faux-grease stains.  I think J’s propensity for chicken nuggets and french fries colored his decision.

And what was A’s gift?

hat

I’ll let that sink in for a second.

Yes, that is fringe.  And those are rhinestones.

In the shape of a skull and crossbones.

When she purchased it, she said “Daddy will love this.  It’s sparkly!”

It now occupies a place of honor in my closet.

Explore posts in the same categories: holidays, Kids

One Comment on “Belated Father’s Day”

  1. carpoolqueen Says:

    I’m bedazzled by their choices.


Leave a Reply

