Finally something for the Christmas letter

Those of you who do letters with your Christmas card, you know how you have to report the new things each family member did over the past year?  How this kid got his first stitches, that kid played in her first soccer game, how your spouse got a new job, etc.  Well, for the past 6-7 years, my portions of the Christmas letter updates have been pretty boring.  I’ve been with the same company for 15 years.  I’ve been working with the same client for the past 6 years.  And since this client tends to really appreciate staying out of the spotlight, most of my work there remains untold.  So not many changes from me for quite a while.

That’s going to change in this year’s letter.

You see, for some reason, I’ve decide to leave my large, multinational, Fortune 500 company and its stable, established, well-compensated job in order to become the Executive Director for my church.

Yes, I’m serious.

I’ve been attending my church for roughly 37 of my 41 years.  And for the past 5 years, I’ve been closely involved with a lot of its inner workings, including leading the group that has been spending $3.5 million to upgrade our existing facilities, and working with senior church leaders to plan out some future strategic initiatives.   A large portion of my time has been spent working closely with the Senior Pastor and most of the staff.

And during these past 5 years, I’ve had more fun and been more excited than I thought I could be about doing the work.

I guess this hasn’t gone unnoticed, since about 2 years ago, our Senior Pastor asked if I would be interested in the Executive Director job.  He and the church had a great need for somebody who could run the day-to-day activities of the church.  I told him I was intrigued by the prospects, but there was no way I could do it, given the fact that I was taking care of two 2 year-olds half-time.  Luckily he was able to find a great person to take the job, so I figured I had made the correct decision.

Until that Executive Director decided to retire two months ago.

Now, I don’t believe the timing on this was a coincidence.  The kids were now 4 1/2 , and they were just about to start school 4 days a week.  I was even considering going back to work full-time with my current client.  So when the Executive Director’s retirement came up, the next time I talked to the Senior Pastor, I casually mentioned that I might be interested.

Rule #1.  Never mention anything “casually” to a Senior Pastor.

Long story (somewhat) short, after several lengthy lunchtime and email discussions with the Senior Pastor, an interview with our Personnel Committee, many conversations with K and Nana about how this would change our lives, and a lot of prayer, I’m in.  The congregation will vote on this during the next business meeting on November 15th.  Hopefully, despite my obvious insanity, they’ll vote to approve me for the job.  If so, plans are to hit the ground running January 1st.

Then the real insanity begins.

Explore posts in the same categories: Kids

7 Comments on “Finally something for the Christmas letter”

  1. carpoolqueen Says:

    Something tells me that you won’t need to twist a lot of arms for the upcoming vote.

    It also says there’s a lot of grace in that church given what I know of your growing up years….

  2. Tiffani Says:

    I just love it when things are orchestrated in such a way as to without.a.doubt. know ho the Conductor is…praying for your new adventure!!

  3. momologuer Says:

    The flower committee budget will increase exponentially! Yippee!

    – Chairman of said church’s flower committee

  4. quotation marks Says:

    PRAYING FOR ALL OF YOU.

  5. Mark & Elyse Says:

    Congrats! Full Time Ministry is a rewarding job!
    Praying for all of you.

  6. carpoolqueen Says:

    Back to CRACK UP at K’s comment about the flower committee.

  7. tanyasue Says:

    Very, very cool! And you’re so right about “casual” mentions to anyone in leadership within the church. I “casually” mentioned my year at art school and have ever since been the go-to girl for all promotional signs, billboards and … well, blank sheets of plywood they may have lying around and want painted. No seems to care that art school is 15 years in my past. 🙂

    Anyway, I’m super excited for you!

    Oh, and you probably have no idea who I am. I’m a lurker here by way of CPQ and Coffeegal.


Leave a Reply

