Halloween, part1

Since yesterday’s regularly scheduled post was interrupted by news about my new job, today we’ll have the obligatory summary of the weekend’s Halloween activities.

For several years, I’ve wanted to have a Halloween party the day before Halloween so the kids can get more than 3 hours out of their Halloween costumes (also known as the most expensive clothes per wearing … except for a wedding dress).  Since Halloween was on a Saturday this year, we hosted our Sunday School class for a party on Friday night.

Of course, my motto is “anything worth doing is worth over-doing.”  So, presented with the opportunity, I decided to combine two of my favorite things… Halloween and Disney World.  Naturally, I had to re-create Disney’s Haunted Mansion.

100_5707 (Custom)The Hitch-Hiking Ghosts greeted visitors at the end of our driveway

Walking up to the house.

100_5704 (Custom)The famous plaque on the front door

100_5705 (Custom)

There’s even a key.

100_5713 (Custom)The Stretching Room Portraits and gargoyles greet you

100_5748 (Custom)The Ballroom table is set

100_5744 (Custom)Complete with the same dinnerware used in the Haunted Mansion
(yes I know, it’s starting to get ridiculous)

100_5731 (Custom)There’s a place for some light reading
(Yes, that’s a Leg Lamp. And yes, it’s up year ’round)

Of course, what Haunted Mansion is complete without Madame Leota?

Master Gracey’s portrait seems to be aging

And everybody loves singing “Grim Grinning Ghosts”

Overall, we had 30 adults and 25 children

halloween

100_5708 (Custom)And they came in 16 cars.

100_5720 (Custom)As always, there was plenty of food

100_5724 (Custom)K as a brunette and me as my culinary hero
(and you thought I was kidding in a previous post)

As our guests headed home, there’s more music

A good time was had by all.

Especially me.

Explore posts in the same categories: geek, holidays, videos

3 Comments on “Halloween, part1”

  1. carpoolqueen Says:

    This sealed it.

    I officially miss living there.

  2. quotation marks Says:

    You must have learned this at VT.
    What a crowd…..and a good time. From the beginning of the driveway to the exit.

    And I’m glad YOU also had a good time.

  3. Tiffani Says:

    May I PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE bring my crew next year?!?! I think I’ve told you how much my family loves all things Disney! You outdid yourself, Mister!!!

    Wowzers. (now my wheels are turning for our “Monster Mash” next year).


Leave a Reply

