Far-ra-ra-ra-ra

One of our Christmas traditions is getting together and watching the movie A Christmas Story (where the main character wants a BB gun).  My dad loves it because it is set in a similar time/place of his childhood.  My brother and I like it because we’ve lived just about every situation in the movie.

On the way out I had to take a picture of this in our foyer:

Yes, it’s a leg lamp.  And yes, it’s up year ’round.
K says it lets visitors know our sense of humor.
Another reason K is awesome.

And look, my brother has one, too.
His only comes out at Christmas, though.

Towards the end of the movie, the family has to go out to dinner at a chinese restaurant because their Christmas dinner was eaten by the next door neighbor’s dogs.  I think my Dad has wanted to recreate part of this scene for years. 

He finally succeeded this year:

 

He’s very proud.

After dinner, it was movie time.

If you don’t like this movie, something is wrong with you.

Always nice to get the gang together.

Explore posts in the same categories: Kids

4 Comments on “Far-ra-ra-ra-ra”

  1. quotation marks Says:

    TREMENDOUS….a good time was had by all, except, I guess, the duck. Thanks.

  2. carpoolqueen Says:

    Next year, I’m coming to your house.


  3. […] 30, 2009 · Leave a Comment This weekend, inspired by ImNotNed’s family tradition, we went to the Chinese buffet for a post-Christmas break from ham and green bean casserole and the […]

  4. Doris Moreland Says:

    By the way, there is also a 3-D puzzle of the lamp. I found it at a popular bookstore, and yes, bought it. Kudos to people who have traditions based on that movie. There’s a 1st grader at my school that looks JUST like Ralphy. I just want to laugh every time I look at him, but that would scar him for life!
    Doris


Leave a Reply

