An entirely different meaning to the word “retreat”

You might remember that our church’s Retreat Center had a little issue with water a couple of months ago.  We’re still finalizing some of the insurance and repair issues.  Yesterday, I drove out to the Retreat Center to inspect some of the work and make some decisions on some of the last repairs.

As I drove up, the Retreat Center manager came right up to my car and shoved something  in my open window.  He said “Here, take this to the church’s finance guy.  He doesn’t believe me.”  I didn’t believe him either, until I saw what he gave me.

So what was it he gave me?

Yes, that is a 3 1/2 foot long snake skin. And not any ordinary snake skin.

It’s a rattlesnake skin.

It was found on the patio of the Retreat Center.

Did I mention a snake was still wearing the skin at the time?

Now, I see snakes all the time.  I don’t really get freaked out about them. But a rattlesnake?

Good night ladies and gentlemen!  You’ve been a great audience!  Don’t forget to tip your waiters and waitresses!

And let’s not even talk about the bears.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “An entirely different meaning to the word “retreat””

  1. vivienne hubbell Says:

    better you than me fella !!! I am o.k. with most snakes too, but not rattlers !!! Good evening to you too….

  2. carpoolqueen Says:

    I’m thinking the Retreat Center might need to be moved. To the beach.


Leave a Reply

