Upgrade

Two little syllables that warm my heart.

The TV in our family room finally started showing its age recently.  When it comes to people, 17 years old sounds barely out of diapers.  But for electronics, 17 years is many generations past obsolescence.  Unfortunately, the old boy has been hanging on to life, refusing to give up the ghost.  While I’m all for acquiring the latest gadget, I just couldn’t bring myself to replacing a perfectly good TV.

Then, about two weeks ago, it started happening.  Strange lines started appearing.  The top part of the picture started warping ever so slightly.

That was all I needed to see.

Luckily, as is my wont, I had been preparing for this day.  I had spent the past several months in training, i.e. researching TVs.  So when I the time came, I was ready. Within a week, the new TV had arrived.

Of course the first order of business was to remove the old TV.  And since it is a 32 inch tube-style TV, it weighs approximately 15,253 pounds.  And was perched on an entertainment center shelf located above our fireplace mantle.  Needless to say, removing it was not a one person job.  But with my brother’s help, I got the old TV removed.

Of course, I neglected to tell him ahead of time that I wanted the old TV taken down AND moved upstairs.  Oh well.

After removing the old TV, my next problem was creating a place to mount the new TV where the old TV sat.  Since this area was a large, deep, open cabinet, I had to build some cross beams to use as a mount point for the new flat panel TV.

5 hours, 3 trips to Home Depot, and 1 trip to Lowes later, the mount was ready and the TV was in place.

46" of HD goodness. And a picture so good, you can almost smell the chicken. Mmmmm ... chiiiicken.

Now, you might be wondering “Hey, I thought you were a technology guy?  Why did it take you so long to upgrade to high definition?” Well I wouldn’t want you to be disappointed.  This is our second HD TV.  And is the “small” HD set.  Our “big” HD TV is still going strong.  It’s just that watching everyday TV on the 120″ picture in the basement is a little bit of overkill.

And quite frankly, a little nausea inducing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Upgrade”

  1. vivienne hubbell Says:

    I can understand that !! Mr. D on the other hand would most likely say, “What are you NUTS?) We discuss the right size of tv in HD we really need for the size of our space…Nothing yet..

  2. carpoolqueen Says:

    Handy Manny has never looked so good –

  3. quotation marks Says:

    As they say “all by yourself,”……well almost. Better S than me as a helper. Even J had it right: “You did that?” VT paid off.


Leave a Reply

