A Note from School

For the first time, J brought home a note from school.

But it wasn’t from a teacher or administrator.

It was from a girl.

There are no spelling mistakes in kindergarten.

I was at a late night meeting the night the note came home, so I didn’t get to enjoy this story first hand.  But as K relayed it to me, I wish I had been there.

K decided not to open and read it.  Instead, she asked J to open and read it while we they were eating dinner.  J opened the envelope, unfolded the letter, and began to read …

“To: J   From Josie

I love you so much.  Can I touch your …”

Judging from the dents in the ceiling, K and Nana both jumped about 10 feet at this point.  K immediately grabbed the note.  This is what she saw:

The actual contents of the note.

For those of you who don’t speak kindergarten, it says:

To: J  From Josie

I love you so much.  Can I tell you my secret?  It’s true.

Love ya,

Josie

Obviously J’s burgeoning reading skills prompted him to read “tell you” as “touch your.”

Maybe it was simply wishful thinking.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “A Note from School”

  1. miss V. Says:

    I would encourage you to go in the wishful thinking mode..May that continue for a few more years… We have two almost 8 year old grandkids and we are still holding out for age 25…foolish older folks !!!!

  2. quotation marks Says:

    COMMENT: I dare not comment about this. It might incriminate the “guilty.” Hey, you’ve got to meet this Josie.

  3. carpoolqueen Says:

    Keepsake box! I still have mine from third grade “Will you go out with me? Circle yes or no”


Leave a Reply

