Sign us up for ER frequent flyer miles

So we’ve done something that can only be described as good intentioned, but that will most likely lead to many trips to the Emergency Room in the future.

We bought a trampoline.

I can really blame my brother for this.  He bought his kids one last year, which instantly became the object of desire for J and A.  Any time they saw it in use, they would ask if they could go over and join in.  As Christmas approached, there was only one item on A’s Christmas list.  Figuring it would be a good way to get them some outdoor exercise, we gave in.  Santa “miraculously” left one in our garage Christmas morning (mostly because Santa’s helper did not want to risk multiple hernias from attempting to move the two 100-pound boxes into the house).

Fast forward two months, when the weather was marginally able to support extended bouncing activities.  Last Friday, I spent a good portion of the day setting up this monstrosity.

One of the two boxes after having spewed forth its contents.

Aforementioned contents.

So far so good. Frame assembled.

After attaching 4,284 springs, the bouncing surface is attached.

Removal of the bouncing surface and 4,284 springs, after I realized I misassembled the frame in the first picture. Did I mention I have an aerospace engineering degree?

After a total of two hours, it's ready to go. Not bad considering I pretty much built it twice.

The entire time I was assembling it, the weather was sunny and warm.  However, an hour before the kids got home from school, a cold front moved through, producing a lot of rain and dropping the temps by 20 degrees.

But this did not deter A.

She pulled on two pairs of pants, three pairs of socks, and winter coat, and headed out.

I got a new camera a couple of weeks ago, so forgive me for indulging in a couple of useless videos showcasing its slow motion capability.

The geek in me loves the drops of water flying around in slo-mo.

The next day was slightly warmer (and much drier), so J made it out.  Not wanting to miss the fun (and after being prodded by the kids), K decided to give it a try.

K should be out of traction by next week.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “Sign us up for ER frequent flyer miles”

  1. carpoolqueen Says:

    You built it twice? And Craig wasn’t involved?

  2. miss V. Says:

    Let the fun begin !!!

  3. quotation marks Says:

    Hey; two hours? Not bad. I knew there was some reason you went to engineering school. BUT; I didn’t see you on the trampoline????
    Hmmmmmmm. Maybe I’ll try it out someday……I’ll have to think about that. I imagine there’s a weight limit.

  4. Uncle S Says:

    I’m not sayin nothin but the lawyer put his together correctly the first time.


Leave a Reply

