An Amazing Discovery

In 1985, I can remember going outside to watch the first Space Shuttle, named Enterprise, fly over the DC area on the back of a 747  while on its way to being turned over to the Smithsonian.  Fast forward to yesterday, when another space Shuttle, the Discovery, was also flown around DC before delivery to the Smithsonian’s Air and Space Museum annex.

We’ve been hearing about this transfer for some time now.  TV and radio stations have been telling people about some of the best spots to catch a glimpse the Shuttle as it circled the city.  Not wanting to cram myself into any of these limited (and therefore crowded) spots, I figured I would stand on the roof of our church and hope for the best.

And the best is what I got.

Arriving at work, I went up a series of steps into a mechanical closet, climbed a ladder, then unlocked a small door that led to the roof.

It’s good to have a key to every door at the church.

From my vantage point, I figured I just might be able to catch a far away shot of the Discovery, so I brought my new, high-zoom camera. I kept listening to the radio, hoping to get a clue as to when it might fly near.  About 2 minutes after I got on the roof, I saw our Senior Pastor walking up to the building.  Since we were supposed to have our weekly meeting about the time the shuttle was going to fly by, I texted him, telling him I was going to be a little late, being on the roof and all.

He immediately texted back, asking for directions to the roof so he could join me.

As he was working his way through the building, I happened to glance up … and saw the 747/Shuttle combo flying slowly by our building.

If that’s all I saw, I would have been thrilled.  About that time, our Senior Pastor made it out on to the roof.  We could still see the Shuttle far, far away, and figured it was just going to circle the downtown area.  Then we noticed it was heading back out of town.

But then we noticed that it looked like it was turning…

And turning …

And coming … right … at … us …

Can you say A … MA … ZING !

Then it came around again.

And again …

Overall, we spent about 45 minutes watching it fly around the city.  Finally, we saw it head out to the horizon, on its way to the Smithsonian Air and Space annex to land.

Can’t wait to go to the museum to see it from even closer.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “An Amazing Discovery”

  1. miss V. Says:

    I am so glad to see that you saw this live !!! As I was seeing it on tv yesterday I said, wow I wonder if you would be able to see it !! Great video too !! Did J & A get to see it too ?

  2. IAmNana Says:

    Gives you an idea of the size of the aircraft and the shuttle when you compare it to the tiny looking fighter jet flying alongside.

  3. quotation marks Says:

    I’m thankful you and JB didn’t get blown off the roof. Obviously “late” for a meeting. Maybe they’ll have to take your
    key(s) away from you for your own safety. What a blast! Glad that you didn’t get blown away by the jet blast like the gal in SXM. These have to be about the best videos and pictures anyone got that morning.


Leave a Reply

