My mother is laughing at me, part 2

A couple of years ago, I posted a story about how I ran around, looking for a particular gift that A just had to have for Christmas. My mother had done a similar thing for me years ago, running all over the suburbs of Minneapolis, looking for the elusive Jawa action figure from Star Wars.  Last night, it was my turn for a sequel.

You see, J and A are in golf camp this week.

Yes, golf camp.  It’s what happens when K plans their summer activities.

They already had a couple of clubs (a hybrid driver and a putter) just so they could practice at home.  But when they came back from their first day of camp this week, we were informed that having only two clubs (and no bag) simply would not do. So, thinking it would be a simple task to get them each an additional iron and a golf bag, I took them out last night to a local golf shop.

Mistake #1 – thinking it would be a simple task.

So, we pull up to the store and, low and behold, the junior golf section is right up front.  They’ve got individual junior irons and bags sitting right there. I’m thinking we’ll be in and out in under two minutes.  J sees that the clubs and bags are red, and he is good to go.

Then A sees the full set of pink clubs, complete with pink bag.

Mistake #2 – taking children to store with me.

She is then focused on nothing else but that set (which, BTW, runs $120.  On sale).  My quick in and out trip now turns into a lengthy explanation of what $120 really means, and why we aren’t getting a full set since they already have two other clubs, and, … and, … and then A gives me the sad puppy dog look.

Mistake #3 – having a girl who has me wrapped around her finger.

I finally get A to understand that we’re not getting the whole set, and she’ll just have to scrape by with a red bag.  As we check out, the clerk can’t find the UPC code on the bag, so he looks up the items on the computer.  As he does this, I see something magical on the screen.

A stand-alone pink juniors bag.

After finding out that they sell a pink version of the bag we were about to purchase, I give A a choice.  She can either have the red bag for class tomorrow, or she can not get a bag right now and wait for the pink bag to be in stock next week.  She actually took the delayed gratification route and asked for the pink bag.  We purchased the red clubs and one red bag and left.

Mistake #4 – not asking clerk if other stores had bag in stock.

After we get home, my curiosity gets the best of me and I look up the pink bag on their website … and notice that it is in stock at their store 10 miles away.  This is where my inherited “must get child Jawa action figure” instinct kicks in.  I order the bag online, select store pickup, and dash out to make it to the store before their closing time in 45 minutes.

Mistake #5 – not checking the weather to see the huge thunderstorm heading directly our way.

Sloshing my way through a “wait, isn’t that an ark”-type of thunderstorm, I arrive at the store 25 minutes before closing.  I think I frightened the poor 17-year old kid working the counter with the desperate, deranged, “you’d better really have this in stock” look that I gave him.  Luckily, the bag was there.  I gathered my kill and sloshed my way back home.

This makes it all worthwhile.

The “Thank you Daddy” hug is kinda nice, too.

Ready for camp

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “My mother is laughing at me, part 2”

  1. quotation marks Says:

    THE first to comment…seemed appropriate. Your Mom loved you so much. She was “tough,” but very tender hearted. Have some tuna fish. These will be one of many things to remember; but I guess that’s one of the reasons for this blog. Pink bag to match the pink bat. Golf “camp;” maybe that’s what I needed as a kid. Then I might have been able to use the driver/woods and not just chip and putt. And a good time was had by all.

  2. miss V. Says:

    What a thoughtful Dad !! For that you get the name of a restaurant in Alexandria Va. It’s called 3. They specialize in Bacon !!! I saw it on the cooking channel special, BACON !!!


Leave a Reply

