Help Nana beat this thing

Last week, K’s mom, aka Nana, aka The-Engine-That-Keep-Our-Family-Moving-Forward, had a minor biopsy procedure.  Simple, out-patient.  Afterward, the doctor even said everything looked good.

Then she got a phone call on Monday asking her to come in for an appointment with the doctor.

To say this is never a good sign would be an understatement.

So, long story short, after her appointment with the doctor this morning, we’re now doing all sorts of fun reading of articles with titles like “Uterine Cancer and You!” and “You Can Put the ‘Hysterical’ Back Into ‘Hysterectomy!’

OK, there really aren’t articles named that.  But there should be. But I digress.

So yeah, Nana has uterine cancer.  She goes on Thursday for a surgery consult, where they’ll discuss the various possibilities and probabilities.  We won’t really know a prognosis until they get in there, take out what they can and test it to see how far things have spread.

So right now, the troops are mobilizing.  Lots of folks are asking what they can do to help.  The biggest help is for people to pray that this stuff hasn’t spread very far.  If that’s the case, prognosis is extremely good.

More to come.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

7 Comments on “Help Nana beat this thing”

  1. CPQ Says:

    We are lighting candles in Carolina.

  2. quotation marks Says:

    My prayers are with all of you. I am so glad that Nana is part of our family. A song just came to me:
    HIS eye is on the sparrow, and I know He’ll watch over Nana.

  3. madetobeme Says:

    Praying here in India, too. I pray for God’s healing power to be at work even now, and that the family is covered in His goodness and a strong sense of His presence.

  4. Tom and Madge Says:

    Nana, NotNed and K you are all in our prayers!

  5. IAmNana Says:

    My thanks to all of you, from the bottom of my heart. I ask too that you pray for those who have surrounded me with their love from the very beginning (long before this latest bump in the road) – from my beloved family to the medical personnel. In a way my job is the easiest – I just sit back and let people take care of me! It can be more painful to watch someone you care about go through a difficult time than to go through it yourself.

  6. Heather S. Mayhew Says:

    Having had the same “C” announced in our house on 2 occasions, we can really empathize with all of you. May the Lord who brought us through do the same for you…with strength, peace and courage you never knew you had. Our love and prayers will remain with you throughout this journey.

    Heather and Charlie

  7. miss V. Says:

    Dear Nana and K, Not Ned and children, please know that our prayers are with you all. We have also placed you on the prayer list at church. This is my favorite quote from Isaiah, and has kept me strong through tough times.41-10.Fear not, for I am with you; do not be dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. We are with you in prayer and in our hearts.


Leave a Reply

