Archive for August 21, 2009

40 no more

August 21, 2009

So, today is my last day of being 40.  When I start to feel a little negative about tomorrow, I just think that it could be worse.

I could be my brother.

And I don’t just mean because he’s older, uglier, and has less hair than I.

Although all those things are true.

I mean that he is having even less fun this week.  You see, his two oldest girls have been at camp for two weeks.  They came back last Saturday.  And they brought back more than memories.

The came back with swine flu.

Now, before you get all worried, everybody is fine. It’s really no big deal.  Just very contagious.  Complicating matters was the fact that they picked up the girls from camp and immediately went to their lake house for the week.  Of course, after many hours in the car and several days in the same house, all five family members (three girls, my brother and sister-in-law) came down with it.

Did I mention that my whole extended family was planning on spending this weekend at their lake house?

Needless to say, we’re planning an alternate birthday celebration for tomorrow.

Oink, oink.